Under a Croatian Sun

From grey Britain to a sunny isle: one couple's dream comes true

Book Cover: Under a Croatian Sun

‘Looking for a good holiday read try Under a Croatian Sun. A story about cultural difference and acceptance. For fans of Driving Over Lemons, Under a Tuscan Sun and A Year in Provence, this is a funny, heart-warming holiday read for people of all ages.’
Mature Times

‘A charming true story of a couple who move from London to a rustic Croatian island.’
Choice magazine

‘A good read.’
Tariq Ali

“Hilarious. You won’t regret it! Five stars”

A London art dealer and his wife, tired of the stress and turmoil of metropolitan life, discover the idyllic island of Vis.

Impulsively they sell their home and business, say farewell to their adult children and move to the island, but being the first foreigners to live on the island, the close-knit community is highly suspicious of them.

The book charts their attempts to gain acceptance and the many rebuffs that they suffer. Their efforts often land them in very awkward (and sometimes hilarious) situations, but they persist and find themselves caught up in the bitter rivalries, love affairs and family dramas of the village.

Through this they learn a lot about the islanders’ attitude to marriage, morality, health and death, and the effect that communism has had on everyone’s lives.

LL Review Final Rating

Reviews:LL Reviews wrote:

Under a Croatian Sun tells the story of a couple from London moving to the island of Vis, and it accomplishes this in the first person–in the man’s POV.

Stancomb has a delightful command over description. I enjoyed the way he describes the ferry pulling into port. The sight of the seamen shouting as they pulled ropes and the sound of the grinding metal as the ferry pulled into port stuck out to me.

As someone who has never been outside of the US, it took me some time with the different names for buses, etc. However, this did not distract from the quality of the book.

I liked seeing his first impressions and some confusion when he first arrived at the island: the interaction between the women. The marketplace seemed to be bustling.

When Ivana was introduced, I liked her. She seemed to be a bit down to earth, but she did seem to be concerned how others viewed her husband. For example, toward the middle of the novel, she remarked on the clothes the main character wore. I think that for some people–men and women, alike–this reaction is normal.

When the above incident occurred, I felt sorry for the man. I thought that he should be able to dress the way he wanted to dress, especially if he was trying to fit in with a group of men who had a similar style as him.

Although cricket is not something that I have ever taken part in, I enjoyed reading about it.

I would recommend Under a Croatian Sun to anyone who likes to read about exotic locations, a person’s impressions on living in a new place, and cricket. It was a fascinating read.

Facebook Comments